Deadline: 13 June, 2021

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) has opened applications for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

This is also a call for nomination entities to be ready to engage and nominate their favourite candidates from around the world.

Every year, UNESCO rewards six individuals or organisations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning.

This year, projects and programmes are requested to reflect the theme: ‘Inclusive distance and digital literacy learning’.

The theme highlights innovative practices that literacy promoters have been initiating as a way to ensuring the continuity of literacy learning during the Covid-19 crisis. B


  • Each UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize winner will receive a medal, a diploma and U.S.$20,000
  • Each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy winner will receive a medal, a diploma and U.S.$30,000


  • Open to governments, non-governmental organisations (NGO) and individuals who promote literacy through projects and programmes
  • All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO in an official partnership with UNESCO

To enter and for more information, click here.

Photo source: ILRI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here